Remove this ad

mongo

Kitbasher

Lead

Aug 17 12 10:20 AM

Tags : :

Not normally my subject matter, but felt like being first once. 

I remember having the UFO from 'The Invaders' as a kid.  I believe an Aurora issue. Built but not painted. If you painted it, you had to wait for it to dry before you could attack David Vincent.  Remember waiting with bated breath to see if the chief of police or the nice old crazy cat lady had a CROOKED LITTLE FINGER?!?  Or how about 'Thunderbirds'?  Gerry Anderson's puppets proved that you could make bad sci-fi without actually spending money.  And we ate it up!  'Star Trek' - 7 flashing lights, a voltmeter, and a slightly feminine mechanical voice constituted a 'computer'! 

Nowadays, we have computer-generated graphics rather than visible strings on marionettes, smart phones smaller than Kirk's communicator, ipads that do way more than McCoy's tri-corder ("Dammit, Jim, I'm a doctor, not an actor!"), and stealth bombers that have more going for them than UFOs (except space travel!).  And don't get me started on shoe phones!

Damn!  I miss the old days!

P,S. - "He's dead, Jim.  You get his tri-corder.  I'll grab his wallet."

Quote    Reply   
Remove this ad
Remove this ad

csmo

Totally Living in the Past

#1 [url]

Aug 17 12 10:35 AM

You, sir, have a sick sense of humor. You belong here with the rest of the inmates of this asylum. Adios, Larry.

"Field Artillerymen do it with a BIGGER BANG!"

Quote    Reply   

mongo

Kitbasher

#2 [url]

Aug 17 12 11:13 AM

It's nice to know my music turns on pretty girls like you!

-Rick Moranis ('Clay Collins' character from SCTV's soap opera spoof 'The Days Of The Week')

Every time I pass a golf course, I think "What a waste of a perfectly good rifle range"!

Quote    Reply   

berniehackettjr

#3 [url]

Oct 7 12 1:25 PM

Folks:

A story about the "Invaders"

I sort of was aware of the show, but didn't watch it.Roy Thinnes?